We offer a range of scholarships across our postgraduate coursework programs.

For more information about these prizes, email us.

Visit the UQ Scholarships website to see the full range of University-wide scholarships, including opportunities for international students.

Ceridwen Indigenous Scholarship

This scholarship is open to undergraduate and postgraduate students within our School who are pursuing study or research in relation to Indigenous Australia.

Find out more about the Ceridwen Indigenous Scholarship.

Australian Wildlife Society University Student Grants

These grants are open to honours and postgraduate students at Australian universities.

Applicants must be a member of the Australian Wildlife Society.

Grants are available for research projects of direct relevance to the conservation of Australian wildlife.

Recipients may use a grant for equipment and consumables, travel expenses related to field research, or attendance at conferences at which recipients will present work.

For more information and to apply, visit the Australian Wildlife Society's University Student Grants pages.

Summer and winter research scholarship programs

Westpac Future Leaders Scholarship

To celebrate Westpac bank's bicentennial, from 2017 this scheme has funded 100 annual scholarships and fellowships valued at up to $120,000 each.

The scheme is open to research and postgraduate coursework students.

Australian citizens or permanent residents, and New Zealand citizens may apply.

Find out more about the Westpac Future Leaders Scholarship scheme.

Wentworth Group Science Scholarship

Launched in February 2007, these scholarships are awarded to postgraduate students.

They are intended to help scientists bridge the gap between science and public policy, and seek to enable recipients to become active contributors at the interface of good decision-making and world-class science.

Recipients are given access to masterclasses and mentoring by some of Australia's best scientists.

This is a non-stipend scholarship, primarily intended to cover the cost of the recipients' travel expenses to attend the masterclass, not for general use or research expenses.

Duration: 1 year

Applicants must be an Australian citizen or permanent resident.

Find out more about the Wentworth Group Science Program Scholarships.

Science International Scholarships

These scholarships are awarded by the UQ Faculty of Science.

They are open to high-achieving international students in undergraduate or postgraduate coursework programs in science at UQ.

Applicants must be classified as an international student in Australia (excludes Australian citizens and permanent residents). They must be able to demonstrate their potential to contribute to science.

Find out more about the Science International Scholarships.

AIEF-BHP Tertiary Scholarship

AIEF-BHP Tertiary Scholarships are awarded to outstanding Indigenous students undertaking engineering, science and other approved degrees, who aspire to work with BHP and to one day become leaders in the business.

Residential students (residing in a tertiary residential college) and non-residential students (residing in private accommodation) can apply for the scholarship, which provides financial assistance and ongoing professional development and career support from AIEF and BHP, including opportunities to apply for BHP Internships and the BHP Graduate Program.

Find out more about the AIEF-BHP Tertiary Scholarship.

Applications for 2019 scholarships have closed.